Library history timeline photos from our archive. Featured photo is a portrait of John Day Ferguson, whose bequest of $10,000 in 1877 started the Ferguson Library.
Owned the building on Atlantic Street where the library first opened in 1882.
In 1889, the Ferguson Library moved to the Geib property on Atlantic Street.
Bedford & Broad
Children at the library once it moved to its present location at Bedford & Broad in 1909.
Main Library Expansion
The Main Library building underwent its first expansion in 1930.
The Ferguson Library began bookmobile service in 1940.
Weed Memorial Branch
Weed Memorial Branch opens in Springdale in 1954.
Turn of River Branch
In 1967, the Turn of River Branch opened in North Stamford.
South End Branch
The South End Branch opened in the South End Community Center in 1970.
Friends of Ferguson Library
Friends of the Ferguson library was incorporated in 1979.
Second Main Library Expansion
In 1982, the second expansion of the Main Library building was completed.
Ferguson Library Foundation
People at public computer stations in 1987, the year the Ferguson Library Foundation was incorporated.
Ferguson Library's iconic purple bus began service in 1997.
In 1999, a Starbucks opened at the Main Library.
Harry Bennett Branch
The Harry Bennett Branch opened in 2000.
Weed Memorial & Hollander Branch
After a renovation, the Weed Memorial & Hollander Branch reopens in 2006.
In 2010, the South End Branch celebrated its 40th anniversary, and the Harry Bennett Branch celebrated its 10th.
More Library Anniversaries
In 2015, the South End Branch celebrated its 45th anniversary, and the Bookmobile (pictured here) celebrates its 75th.