One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  |  العربية  |  Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:

Science and Nature

Astronomy, chemistry, biology, physics, earth sciences, technology, and mathematics.

Library Resources

Selected Titles:
The Astronomical Almanac R 528.1 A859
Connecticut Wildlife: Biodiversity, Natural History and Conservation. 591.9746 H224C
McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical terms. R 503 M147

Call numbers for selected subject areas:
Astronomy 520, 523
Biology 570, 574
Chemistry 540
Physics 530
Plants 580
Mathematics 510

Magazines:
Discover {electronic}
E Magazine {circulating}
National Geographic {circulating & reference}
New Scientist {circulating}
Popular Science {circulating}                                                                              
Science News {circulating}
Scientific American {reference}

 

Databases:

AccessScience
Premiere online science platform, featuring fully searchable content
from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America Extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service.
Biology A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science.
New Book of Popular Science Science articles, projects, and news stories.
PLoS (Public Library of Science) JournalsPeer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
Patents & Trademark Search and track patents and trademarks.
Science Reference Center Searchable full-text articles and illustrations on all major sciences.
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geologic Features Focuses on the physical and geological aspects, structure, and features of 48 of the earth's landforms.
World of Earth Science Earth science topics, concepts, theories, discoveries.

 

Best of the Web:

NASA
American Botanical Council
Biodiversity Hotspots
US Geological Survey Earthquakes Hazards Program
American Chemical Society
National Biological Information Infrastructure
WebElements: the periodic table on the web
S.O.S. MATHematics
American Physical Society
Physics World            
Nature Serve
U.S. Geological Survey - Earthquakes