History & Politics
Please have your library card handy to log in from home or the office.
Need help? Ask a Librarian!
For immediate help call 203-351-8221.
Don't Know Much About History: Everything You Need to Know About American History but Never Learned 973 D262D
Lies my teacher told me : everything your American history textbook got wrong 973 L827L 2007
A people's history of the United States : 1492-present 973 Z77P 2003
A history of the American people 973 J68H
The Almanac of American Politics R 329.00973 B265a
Ancient History 930s
Medieval and European History 940s
World War I 940.3s
World War II 940.5s
American History 973s
Academic One File: All subjects. Scholarly journals and magazines, many full-text.
African-American History Online Expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.
American Indian History & Culture -Access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.
Ancestry.com - Family histories. Only available on-site at The Ferguson Library.
Ancient and Medieval History Online - Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Nearly 5 million people indexed. References books and other publications that contain their biographies.
Biography Resource Center Full Text biographical profiles and images of individuals from antiquity to the present.
Discovering Collection Full text coverage of the core curriculum areas of history, literature, science, and social studies for middle and high school students.
Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence and Security A guide to the history, uses, related scientific principles and technology of espionage and intelligence.
Encyclopedia of Population Covers large-scale changes and research in population studies during the last 20 years. Topics include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries, low fertility rates, and environmental impact of dense population.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations and Footwear through the Ages Facts and information about the cultural, religious and social implications of human decoration and adornment throughout history, emphasis on the 20th century.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America Essays on minority, ethnic and culture groups in the United States. Emphasis on religion, holidays, customs, language in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History - Encyclopedic entries on the economic impact of various events and movements within US History. Includes biographies, industry and geographic profiles; and topics concerning this important curricular area.
General Reference Center Gold - Newspaper, company profile, and core curriculum research databases.
Heritage Quest Online Research resource for family history and American culture. Includes Federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection.
History Resource Center (United States) - Covers U.S. history from colonial times to the present. Many full text articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, and reference works. Includes primary source documents, timelines, historical maps and atlases, and audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.
History Resource Center (World) Covers 5,000 years from antiquity to the present. Full text articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, reference works, primary sources, a graphical timeline, research guide, historical maps and images.
InfoTrac Student Edition For high school students. Full‐text magazines and newspaper articles, 17 ready‐reference books, full-color maps, and over 100,000 podcasts and
JSTOR 461 international scholarly materials from more than 24 disciplines.
Best of the Web:
Stamford, CT - Voter Information
CT Secretary of State-Voter Registration Deadlines
CT League of Women Voter's -General Information & forms
Project Vote Smart
Real Clear Politics