One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  |  العربية  |  Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:

Health and Wellness

Consumer health information, nutrition, health and wellness, researching a doctor.

Please have your library card handy to log in from home or the office.
Need help? Ask a Librarian! For immediate help call 203-351-8221.

Library Resources:

Selected Titles:


AHA Guide to the Health Care Field - R 362 A499G
Directory
and guide to U.S. Hospitals, Health Care Systems, Networks, Alliances,
Health Organizations, Agencies, & Providers.
America’s Top Doctors R610.6952 A512 2010
Arranged
by specialty, then by region, e.g., New England. Includes hospital
listing, special expertise index, alphabetical listing of doctors.
The
Official ABMS directory of board certified medical specialists.
R 926.1
D598M Directories arranged by medical specialty, each of which is also
issued separately.

Call numbers for selected subject areas:


General Health & Wellness 612s
Diet & Nutrition 613s
Consumer Health 616s
Women’s Health 618s

 

Databases:

Reference USA - Quick or customized search for physician or dentist by name, location, specialty, gender and/or credentials.
Health & Wellness Resource Center including Alt Health - integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine Covers alternative and complementary medical practices. Includes therapies, medicinal uses of plants and herbs, and analysis of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer Covers specific cancer types, diagnostic procedures, treatments, cancer side effects, and drugs. Includes concepts such as cancer biology, carcinogenesis, and cancer genetics, clinical trials, home health care, fertility, and cancer prevention.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders Information on genetic disorders including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. Full text.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine Information on common medical disorders and concepts with causes, symptoms, diagnosis, conditions, tests, procedures, and treatments.
Consumer Health Information - Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Physician Profile - For Connecticut-licensed physicians, gives specialty, education, languages spoken, board certification, and any malpractice action.


Magazines:
Woman's Health {circulating}
Health {circulating}
Men's Health {circulating}
Muscle & Fitness {reference}
Prevention {circulating}
Psychology Today {circulating & reference}
WedMD {circulating}
Weight Watchers {circulating}
Yoga Journal {circulating}

 

Best of the Web:

American Dental  Association - Oral health related information for dentists and their patients, as well as dentist locator.
AMA (American Medical Association) Doctor Finder  Search for AMA physicians by name or by specialization.
Centers for Disease Control- Access to demographic and public health data, heath information for travelers, health surveillance tools as well as health news and links to other government information resources.
Affordable Health Care Act - Conecticut State Library
National Cancer Institute- Provides information on cancer topic, ongoing clinical trials, statistics, research and funding activities.
Flu.gov - Comprehensive government-wide information on seasonal, H1N1 (swine), H5N1 (bird) and pandemic influenza for everyone.
Healthfinder - Guide to health and human services databases, websites, and agencies.
Kidshealth - Information about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years free of "doctor speak”. Sections for parents, kids and teens.
Healthy Roads Media - health education materials in a variety of languages and formats.
Hospital Compare Information on how the hospitals in your area care for all their adult patients with certain medical conditions. Compare the quality of care hospitals provide.
Household Products Database Search by product name, ingredients, or chemical name. Provides Material Safety Data Sheet information.
InsuranceQuotes.org  A comprehensive health insurance guide for
consumers.
Mayo Clinic - Access the experience and knowledge of the more than 3,700 physicians, scientists and researchers of Mayo Clinic. Features consumer health information on a wide range of diseases and conditions
MedlinePlus - A user-friendly source from the National Library of Medicine. Gives information on health, diseases, conditions, drugs; provides a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries; directories of doctors, dentists, and hospitals; health organizations.
Physician Profile - For Connecticut-licensed physicians, gives specialty, education, languages spoken, board certification, and any malpractice actions.
Medicare – Nursing Home Compare Find nursing homes in any city. Provides the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the U.S.
WebMD - Commercial site provides wide array of consumer health information resources.