Arts
Painting and drawing, television, movies, music, architecture, and photography.
Please have your library card handy to log in from home or the office.
Need help? Ask a Librarian!
For immediate help call 203-351-8221.
Library Resources:
Selected Titles:
The Dictionary of Art R 703 D554
A key source for information on art and artists.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. R 780 N532
The comprehensive source for information on major works, composers, instruments, performers and musical trends.
Who's Who in American Art. R709.22 W628A
An annual compilation of notable figures in the American Art Scene.
Call numbers for selected subject areas:
Interior design 747
Painting 750
Drawing 741
Television 621s, 791
Film 791.4
Music 780
Architecture 720
Photography 770
Magazines:
Architectural Digest
Architectural Record
Art Index
Artforum
Artist's Magazine
Billboard
Rolling Stone
Popular Photography
Antiques & the Arts Weekly
Databases:
JSTOR 461 international scholarly materials from more than 24 disciplines.
Academic One File: All subjects. Scholarly journals and magazines, many full-text.
General One File: All subjects. News and periodical articles, many full text.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations and Footwear through the Ages Facts and information about the cultural, religious and social implications of human decoration and adornment throughout history, emphasis on the 20th century.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Cross-curriculum resources on American popular culture. Major topics include: television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising.
Best of the Web:
Artcyclopedia - Comprehensive search engine for artists and their works.
All music - music information.
AP Images - one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery.
The Wadsworth Atheneum - first public art institution in the United States
Internet Movie Database Everything you want to know about movies – cast, crew, reviews and show times.
National Gallery of Art - Search the collection of one of the finest museums in the United States by artist, title or a combination.
Stamford Center for the Arts - A not-for-profit arts organization dedicated to serving as the region's premiere center for the performing arts.
Stamford Symphony Orchestra The resident orchestra at the Stamford Center for the Arts.
Yale
University Art Gallery – Art gallery at Yale University in New Haven, CT
Main Library
Monday - Thursday: 11 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Friday: 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.
all hours
Ferguson Library | One Public Library Plaza | Stamford, Connecticut 06904
All Branches | 203 964-1000 | Directions


