Search Our Catalog-->

One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  | Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:

A to Z Databases

The library provides access to online resources and databases that have been carefully selected by our staff to provide high-quality and reliable content. Most of these resources are available from home with a valid Ferguson Library card.

Featured Database


Icon Key
iConn US Government Site Connecticut Government Site Stamford Government Site Only available to Ferguson Library card holders
Database provided by iConn

United States Government

Connecticut Government

Stamford Government

Ferguson Library Card Required


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Academic Search PremieriConn Database

Full text articles from over 4,700 academic journals covering all major areas of study including: social sciences, humanities, education, physics, chemistry, biology, engineering, language and linguistics, and more.

Access Business NewsOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Fully searchable current and archived content from over 350 business journals, news weeklies, and other periodicals covering local to national interests.

Access ScienceOnly available to Ferguson Library cardholders

Premier online science platform featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology covering all major scientific disciplines.

Access U.S. Broadcast TranscriptsOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Full-text collection of current and archived broadcast transcripts from many of the top television and radio news shows in the United States.

Access U.S. NewswiresOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Fully searchable current and archived content from leading U.S. newswire services providing local and national coverage.

Access World NewsOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Fully searchable current and archived content from over 4,700 news sources from 139 countries.

The AdvocateOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Searchable full-text archive of The Advocate, Stamford's local daily newspaper. (Covers January 14, 2005 to present)

Advocate Historical ArchiveOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Explore news articles from Stamford Advocate and Daily Advocate. (Covers 1829-1903, 1979-2004)

Advocate (Historical & Current)Only available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Search news articles in The Advocate, Stamford Advocate, and Daily Advocate in historic and contemporary issues. (Covers 1829-1903, 1979-present)

The Advocate: Obituaries & Death NoticesOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Search obituaries and death notices in The Advocate (Covers October 2004 to present)

Ancestry Library EditionOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Comprehensive international genealogical database covering billions of names and vital statistics in thousands of resources and collections. (Only available on-site at The Ferguson Library)

Return to Top


Biography Reference BankiConn Database

In-depth narrative profiles of over 719,000 individuals providing the most current coverage of an individual's life and works. Includes related full-text articles and abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals.

Biography Reference CenteriConn Database

Contains most of top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Provides a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Books in PrintOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Authoritative source for bibliographic information including professional reviews, cover images, summaries and annotations, and publishing information.

Return to Top


United States Census BureauUS Government site

Quality data about the nation's people and economy from the Federal government. Provides access to data from the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census (every 5 years), Census of Government, American Community Survey, and more.

Christian Science MonitoriConn Database

Independent daily newspaper providing national and international news and commentary on people and cultures. (Covers 1988 to present)

Connecticut Archives Online

Search over 4,000 finding aids from historical archives stored in universities, libraries, and historical societies around Connecticut.

Connecticut Digital CollectionsiConn Database

Digital collections from institutions around Connecticut like the Connecticut State Library and the State Archives. Includes court documents, law and legal materials, and photographs.

Connecticut History Illustrated

A digital collection of over 18,000 digital primary sources, together with interpretive and educational material. Focused on digital capture of historical photographs, maps, broadsides, paintings, manuscripts, and oral histories documenting people, events, and places that are part of the fabric of Connecticut history.

Connecticut Physician ProfileConnecticut Government Site

Register of physicians licensed by the state of Connecticut. Review specialties, languages spoken, board certifications, and any malpractive actions.

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections (

Use to search through Connecticut-specific genealogical records.

Consumer ReportsiConn Database

Consumer Reports serves consumers through unbiased product testing and ratings, research, journalism, public education, and advocacy. Search articles and reviews . (Covers 1985 to present) 

Return to Top


Directory of Open Access Journals

Access articles from over 10,000 full-text and peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals from around the world covering a wide variety of subjects.

Driver Education

Connecticut DMV Permit practice exams. Includes 10 automobile and 6 motorcycle practice tests, a commercial driver's license test, and driver's manuals for automobile and motorycle.

Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar DatabaseOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Comprehensive company information on 34 million public and private businesses in over 200 countries worldwide.

Return to Top


EBSCOhost for Public LibrariesiConn Database

Simultaneously search across multiple resources including Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank, History Reference CenterMasterFILE Premier and others.

EBSCOhost EspañoliConn Database

Spanish-language interface to simultaneously search across multiple resources including Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank, History Reference Center, MasterFile Premier, and others.

EDGARUS Government site

The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system provides access to company filings and mutual fund prospectuses submitted to the United States Securities & Exchange Commission.

Encyclopedia AmericanaOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

One of the largest general encyclopedia in the English language with more than 45,000 articles. Designed for high school and first-year college students and public library users.

Encyclopedia of AssociationsOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Detailed information of over 23, 000 nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Encyclopedia JudaicaOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)US Government site

Digital library of education related resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.

Return to Top


Federal Digital SystemUS Government site

The Federal Digital System (FedSys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Ferguson Library E-JournalsOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

List of all the electronic magazines and journals accessible from the library's databases.

Return to Top



A growing database of 6 million company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more. Additionally find millions of job openings around the world.


Comprehensive international business and trade content on a wide range of topics. Covers global resources, market potential index (mpi), database of IB statistics (DIBS), glossary, all countries, US States, all sectors, GlobalEDGE blog, course development tools, research distribution, job banks, and diagnostic tools.

GreenFILEiConn Database

A collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Grolier Multimedia EncyclopediaOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

One of the largest general encyclopedia in the English language with more than 45,000 articles. Designed for students in middle school to high school.

Return to Top


Hartford CourantiConn Database

Searchable full-text archive of the Hartford Courant, Hartford, Connecticut's local daily newspaper. (Covers 1992 to present)

Hartford Courant Historical iConn Database

Explore news articles from the Hartford Courant's historical archives. (Covers 1764 to 1922)

Health and Wellness Resource Center including Alternate HealthOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information with up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. (Provided with generous support from Purdue Pharma)

HealthfinderUS Government site

A government website to find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy with resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations.

Heritage Quest OnlineiConn Database

Research resource for family history and American culture. Includes federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection.

History Reference CenteriConn Database

Extensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction.

Return to Top


iConniConn Database

Statewide catalog to search for books, movies, and other materials at libraries throughout Connecticut. Search simultaneously all content in iCONN considered to be most useful to residents of Connecticut with one search.

iConn A-Z E-JournalsiConn Database

Alphabetical listing of all the electronic magazines and journals from the Connecticut statewide library service.

iConn NewstandiConn Database

List of online newspapers databases provided by iConn. Includes The Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and more.

iConn OneSearchiConn Database

Search all of the online resources provided by Connecticut's statewide library service with from one place.

Return to Top


JobNowOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job from writing a resume to interview advice and tips.

JSTOROnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines.

Return to Top


Law Library System - Connecticut Judicial BranchConnecticut Government Site

Prompt and professional guidance and access to reliable and comprehensive information to individuals who are researching or pursuing legal rights and remedies.

Legal Information Reference CenteriConn Database

Full-text resource for many premier consumer legal reference books and find thousands of multi-state legal forms searchable by subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name  changes and more.

Literature Criticism OnlineOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

The largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

Los Angeles TimesiConn Database

Explore news articles from the Los Angeles Times. (Covers 1985 to current)

lynda.comOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders. helps anyone learn software, technology, creative, and business skills to achieve their personal and professional goals. is a premier online learning resource offering more than 3,500 courses covering technical skills, creative techniques, business strategies, and more.

Return to Top


MainFileiConn Database

Multi-disciplinary database providing coverage that encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas with coverage for more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals, nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias.

Martindale Hubbell

Contains profiles for over one million lawyers and firms in the United States, Canada and 160 other countries.

MasterFile PremieriConn Database

Contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more with PDF backfiles (as far back as 1922) for key publications including American Libraries, Consumer Reports, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Library Journal, National Review, and Saturday Evening Post.

MedlinePlusUS Government site

Comprehensive health, wellness and medical information from National Library of Medicine. Includes medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, directories of medical providers and organizations. Also available in Spanish.

Morningstar Investment Research CenterOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds providing all levels of investors with a range of dynamic tools and thoughtful perspectives to help them make more informed investment decisions.

Return to Top


National Directory of Nonprofit OrganizationsOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Guide to the nonprofit world designed for marketers, sales staff, and nonprofit professionals providing contact and basic factual information on the largest nonprofit organizations in the United States.

New Book of Popular ScienceOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

An online encyclopedia with more than 400 articles on science, medicine, and technology. Provides resources on breaking scientific news, projects, and activities for middle and high school students.

NewsbankOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Large news collection including print and online newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos at the local, regional, national and international level.

Newspaper Source PlusiConn Database

Full-text coverage from more than 1,200 major newspapers around the world. Also features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Newspapers of Connecticut

Sample collection from the Connecticut State Library of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in Connecticut. (1821-1929)

New York State Physician Profiles

Register of physicians licensed by the state of Connecticut. Review specialties, languages spoken, board certifications, and any malpractive actions.

New York TimesOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Full-text articles from The New York Times providing national and international news, opinion, and commentary. (1980 to current)

New York Times HistoricalOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Explore news articles from The New York Times' historical archives. (Covers 1851 to 2009)

Nonfiction Book Collection for High School Students iConn Database

Research database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular nonfiction books including high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.

Novelist PlusOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Contains reviews of both fiction and nonfiction, plot summaries, book discussion guides, and recommendations.

La Nueva Enciclopedia CumbreOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Spanish language encyclopedia for elementary and middle school children.

Enciclopedia de la lengua española para niños de la escuela primaria y media.

Return to Top


Occupational Outlook HandbookUS Government site

The Federal government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of jobs as wide-ranging as carpenter, teacher, and veterinarian. Revised every 2 years, the latest version contains employment projections for the 2012-22 decade.

Return to Top


U.S. Patent & Trademark OfficeUS Government site

The Federal government agency responsible for granting patents and registering trademarks. Find information on how to research and apply for a patent or trademark.

Professional Development CollectioniConn Database

Comprehensive collection of full-text education journals. Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals and more than 200 educational reports.

PronunciatorOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Comprehensive language learning software supports learning of 80 languages and ESL lessons for speakers of 50 different languages. Featuring flashcards, conversations, downloadable textbooks, learners' manual, phrasebooks, culture and business information, and pronunciation.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) Journals

Peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.

PubMedUS Government site

PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Return to Top


ReferenceUSAOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Premier source of nationwide directories for 24 million business and 89 million residences, 2.5 million job listings, detailed information on 255 thousand physicians and dentists, plus market research and neighborhood research.

Referencia LatinaiConn Database

This extensive database offers content from a variety of sources including an inclusive collection of images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas and current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarships inside and outside academia.

Esta extensa base de datos ofrece contenido de una variedad de fuentes, incluyendo una colleción de imágenes, informes de salud y el texto completo de libros de consulta y revistas de interés general incluido en una amplia gama de temas y artículos actuales de una docena de periódicos promientes de 10 países de América Latina. Además, el recurso cubre un espectro competo de becas español dentro y fuera del ámbito académico.

Return to Top


Science Reference CenteriConn Database

Full-text source from nearly 200 science periodicals, 700 science reference books and encyclopedias covering topics such as biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmemental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife. Additionally provides full-text science essays and biographies along with images and video.

Small Business Resource CenterOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Comprehensive database to support prospective and current entrepreneurs covering all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. Includes the entire Business Plans Handbook Series with hundreds of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs.

Stamford Newspaper Obituary Index

Search obituaries printed in Stamford newspapers since 1830 by name and date. Text of obituaries are available on microfilm at the DiMattia Main Branch or through our digitized archive at Newsbank (1829-1903, 1979-2004).

Stamford Online Assessor's Database (Grand List)Stamford Government Site

Resource provided by the city of Stamford for assessment figures, property ownership history, property information, etc. Search by Stamford street address or owner's name.

Standard & Poor's Net AdvantageOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Thorough source of business and investment information that offers online access to industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and mutual fund reports.

Student Research CenteriConn Database

Search databases and periodicals by topic or keyword using an interface specifically designed for middle and high school students.

Return to Top


Teacher Reference CenteriConn Database

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals covering a variety of topics for teachers such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, curriculum developmet, literacy standards and more.

Testing and Education Reference CenterOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Educational resource offering a range of practice standardized exams and preparation eBooks for education and careers, including the G.E.D., PRAXIS, SAT, and more. Search thousands of college and graduate school entries and scholarships.

TOPICSearchiConn Database

Full-text database for over 150 thousand articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

Tutor.comOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

Fully online tutoring service offering help in more than 40 subjects including math, science, social studies, English, AP support, foreign languages, and business for students in kindergarten to grade 12. One-on-one live tutoring is available from 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm daily.

Return to Top


USA.govUS Government site

The official web portal of the United States government with easy access to U.S. government information and services.

Return to Top


Value LineOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

A company and industry research services that covers stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities, and special situation stocks.

Return to Top


Wall Street JournaliConn Database

Search articles and information from the Wall Street Journal, the world's leading financial newspaper. (1984 to current)

The Washington PostiConn Database

Search articles and information from The Washington Post covering in-depth news and analysis of American politics, national and international trends and events. (1987 to current)


Search the collections of libraries from around the U.S. and the world for books, periodicals, sound recordings, and much more.

Return to Top


ZinioOnly available to Ferguson Library card holders.

The world's largest newsstand offering full color, interactive digital magazines for your enjoyment. Find both current and back issues of popular magazines and periodicals.

Return to Top