One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  | Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:

New Graphic Novels

Looking for a good graphic novel? Try these recent selections from The Ferguson Library collection.

 

Squarzoni, Philippe
Climate Changed: A Journey Through the Science
FIC SQUARZON

French cartoonist-journalist Squarzoni, who practices his craft in the vein of Joe Sacco and Guy Delisle, digs deep into the science, economics, politics, international policies, and ethics that together force cataclysmic climate change into our very near global future. Source: Booklist, June 01, 2014

 

Finck, Liana
A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York
974.71 F493b

An evocative, elegiac love letter to New York City and the culture that continues to make it the most original city in the world.  As the 19th century gave way to the 20th, a surge of Jewish immigrants reshaped indelibly the culture of the metropolis and of America itself. Source: From the Publisher

Geary, Rick
Madison Square Tragedy: the Murder of Stanford White
FIC GEARY

Stanford White was one of New York’s most famous architects, having designed many mansions and the first Madison Square Garden.  This true-crime tale describes his career and the vices that cost him his life, telling the story of one of the most scandalous murders of the times. Source: From the Publisher

 

Ashby, Ruth
Uncle Sam Presents the Great American Documents
FIC ASHBY

With a narrator who is none other than Uncle Sam, this book walks us through twenty essential documents from the Mayflower Compact in 1620 to the Indian Removal Act in 1830.  An indispensable resource for anyone who wants the facts of American history close at hand. Source: From the Publisher 

Dixon, Chuck
The Forgotten Man
FIC DIXON

This book’s hero is the nearly forgotten Wendell Willkie, Roosevelt's opponent in the election of 1940, but all the major social and political players, from Andrew Mellon to Ayn Rand, make appearances.  A beautiful use of comics to boil down a complex era. Source: Publishers Weekly, June 09, 2014 

 

Chast, Roz
Can’t We Talk About Something Pleasant?
FIC CHAST

New Yorker cartoonist Chast writes a bravely honest memoir of watching her parents become too frail to stay in the Brooklyn apartment they called home for five decades, then die in a hospice-care facility.  An unflinching look at the struggles facing adult children of aging parents. Source: Booklist, May 15, 2014


Kruper, Peter (ed.)
World War 3 Illustrated 1979-2014
FIC WORLD

George Washington, Mahandas K. Gandhi, and Martin Luther King Jr. led rebellions against injustice, and the fight goes on worldwide. For the past 35 years, World War 3 Illustrated has published progressive comics commentary on macro- and micropolitical struggles.  Source: Library Journal, Sept 15, 2014

Asano, Inio
Nijigahara Holograph
FIC ASANO

At the heart of this tale is Arie, who tells one too many stories about the monster that lives in the tunnel behind the school. In an attempt to shut her up, her classmates push her into a well. The consequences of that action spiral outward in ways the children never imagined. Source: Booklist, April 15, 2014